When Ronnie O'Sullivan Walked Out On Stephen Hendry | 2006 UK Championship Quarter Final

Champion of Champions Qualification Criteria

The qualification criteria for this year’s Champion of Champions Snooker has been confirmed.

Click here for the Qualifying Schedule

A total of 26 spots are split into six groups, with the winners of the first 16 events listed assured of an invite to Ricoh Arena, Coventry for what has quickly become one of snooker’s showpiece tournaments. Within each group the events are listed in chronological order from the conclusion of the 2016 Champion of Champions.

John Higgins beat Ronnie O'Sullivan in a classic 2016 final

John Higgins beat Ronnie O’Sullivan in a classic 2016 final

The first group consists of four tournaments; the defending champion plus the winners of snooker’s triple crown tournaments. John Higgins (Champion of Champions), Mark Selby (UK Championship) and Ronnie O’Sullivan (The Masters) already occupy three of these four positions.

The second group of events is made up of major prize money ranking events, as well as Matchroom Sport’s other promoted tournament on the World Snooker Tour – Championship League. The winners of these competitions are also guaranteed an invite to the Champion of Champions.

Group three is the Home Nations events, with Mark King and Marco Fu already listed as winners of the Northern Irish Open and Scottish Open respectively.

The fourth group includes winners of the Gibraltar Open, Riga Masters and Paul Hunter Classic, as well as the World Championship runner-up. Next on the list are the two World Cup winners and finally the sixth group on the qualifying list features the Snooker Shoot Out and the 6 Reds World Championship.

Should 16 different players not occupy the 26 positions on the list then the remaining invite(s) for the Champion of Champions will be awarded to the highest players on the World Ranking list after the final ranking event prior to the Champion of Champions.

The 2017 Champion of Champions is set to take place at Ricoh Arena from Monday, November 6, concluding on Sunday, November 12. Ticket details will be announced shortly.