Williams Magic Secures Quarter Final Place | Cazoo British Open

Robertson Named Player Of The Year

Neil Robertson has been named WST’s Player of the Year for the first time, after winning four tournaments during the 2021/22 season.

Australia’s Robertson lifted the trophy at the English Open, the Masters, Players Championship and the Tour Championship during the most prolific season of his career. He was knocked out in the second round of the World Championship but had the consolation of making a 147 at the Crucible.

Ronnie O’Sullivan won the Snooker Journalists’ Player of the Year award, voted by media around the world who cover snooker. O’Sullivan won the World Championship as well as the World Grand Prix, and finished the season on top of the world rankings.

O’Sullivan also won the Performance of the Year award for winning the World Championship for the seventh time, beating Judd Trump 18-13 in the final to equal the record of Crucible crowns set by Stephen Hendry.

The Fans’ Player of the Year award, voted by fans on the WST App and on social media platforms in China, went to Zhao Xintong. The Chinese ace landed his first ranking title at the UK Championship and went on to win the German Masters, climbing to number six in the world.

Magic Moment of the Year went to Robertson for his fantastic 147 during his World Championship match against Jack Lisowski as he became only the eighth player to make a maximum at the Crucible.

China’s 18-year-old Wu Yize won Rookie of the Year following a promising debut season which included runs to the last 32 of three ranking events.

There are two new entries to the Snooker Hall of Fame, for the great players and administrators who have had a significant impact on our sport. They are:

Reanne Evans, the most successful ever player on the women’s tour, having won the World Championship a record 12 times.

Allison Fisher, who won the Women’s World Championship seven times in the 1980s and 1990s and played regularly in televised professional tournaments in that era.

Both Reanne and Allison have made outstanding contributions to the growth of snooker and we are delighted to welcome them into the Hall of Fame.

WST Awards: 2021/22 winners
WST Player of the Year – Neil Robertson
Fans’ Player of the Year – Zhao Xintong
Snooker Journalists’ Player of the Year – Ronnie O’Sullivan
Performance of the Year – Ronnie O’Sullivan
Rookie of the Year – Wu Yize
Magic Moment of the Year – Neil Robertson
Hall of Fame: Reanne Evans, Allison Fisher

Player of the Year – former winners
2011: John Higgins
2012: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2013: Mark Selby
2014: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2015: Stuart Bingham
2016: John Higgins
2017: Mark Selby
2018: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2019: Judd Trump
2020: Judd Trump
2021: Judd Trump
2022: Neil Robertson