RYAN DAY 147! | Sensational Maximum Break vs Mark Selby [QF] | 2023 Duelbits Tour Championship

Snooker’s Shanghai Masters Continues Rich History

Ding Junhui beat Mark Selby in last year’s final

The 2017 World Snooker Shanghai Masters will be held at the Shanghai Indoor Stadium from 13th to 18th November, 2017.

This world ranking event has a great reputation, having been staged for ten consecutive years since it was first held 2007. China’s top player Ding Junhui won the title for the second time last year when he beat Mark Selby in the final. Other former winners include Ronnie O’Sullivan, John Higgins and Mark Selby. Once again an extremely strong field of the world’s best players is expected.

Many top players have named the Shanghai Masters among their favourite tournaments on snooker’s global calendar. And the snooker fans in Shanghai are known for their enthusiasm and passion for the sport.

The 2017 World Snooker Shanghai Masters is hosted by the Multi-ball Games Administrative Center of General Administration of Sports of China, Shanghai Administration of Sports, People’s Government of Xuhui District, organized by Shanghai Juss Sports Development (Group) Co.,Ltd, Great Sports Co.,Ltd, and promoted by Shanghai Juss Event Management Co., Ltd. The tournament will take place as a result of active consultation and innovation from the Jiushi Sports Group, World Snooker Limited and the Chinese Billiards and Snooker Association. The event forms part of the overall transformation plans for Xujiahui Sports Park, while ensuring that this ten-year-old tournament continues its prestigious history.

The 2017 World Snooker Shanghai Masters will have more players than previous stagings of the event, with at least 64 players at the final venue. With the event played over six days, it will be an intense schedule with fierce competition. A qualifying round will be staged in England from October 11-13, with players needing to win one match to make it to the final venue.

Fans in Shanghai love snooker

The total prize money will be £700,000, an increase of 50 per cent compared to last season. The champion will receive £150,000, equalling the record for the biggest prize paid at a ranking event staged outside the UK.

Jiushi Sports Group will continue to build and develop the reputation of the Shanghai Masters, working together with WSL and CBSA on the future vision. Meeting the demand of snooker fans throughout China and worldwide, the event’s influence will be expanded globally.

Tickets are on sale now with very affordable prices, fans can call the ticket hotline: (86) 021-64265678.

The event has launched a new WeChat Micro-blog for “the Snooker Shanghai Masters” with fans welcome to get involved. Fans can also log on to the official website for more information: www.snookershanghai.com

Shanghai Masters former champions:
2007 Dominic Dale
2008 Ricky Walden
2009 Ronnie O’Sullivan
2010 Ali Carter
2011 Mark Selby
2012 John Higgins
2013 Ding Junhui
2014 Stuart Bingham
2015 Kyren Wilson
2016 Ding Junhui