Back-To-Back STEALS! | Clinical Kyren Wilson vs Ali Carter [QF] | 2023 Duelbits Tour Championship

Trump Named Player Of The Year

Judd Trump has been named Player of the Year in the 2019 World Snooker Awards.

Trump also scooped the prize in the Snooker Writers’ Player of the Year category.

Victory at the World Championship last Sunday, his first Crucible crown, capped off a career-best season for 29-year-old Trump. He also won the Masters for the first time as well as the Northern Ireland Open and World Grand Prix. The Bristol cueman became the first player to earn over £1 million in a single season.

Ronnie O’Sullivan won the Fans’ Player of the Year award, voted by many thousands of fans on Twitter, Facebook, WeChat, Weibo and in person at the Crucible. O’Sullivan won the Shanghai Masters, Champion of Champions, UK Championship, Players Championship and Tour Championship during a prolific season, as well as climbing to the top of the rankings for the first time in nine years.

The Magic Moment of the Year award also went to O’Sullivan, for making the 1,000th century of his career during the last frame of the Players Championship final.

Performance of the Year went to James Cahill for his historic victory over O’Sullivan in the first round of the World Championship. Cahill was the first amateur ever to compete at the Crucible and knocked out the world number one.

The Rookie of the Year award went to Leicester’s Joe O’Connor, who climbed to 75th in the world rankings during his debut season. The 23-year-old reached the semi-finals of the Welsh Open and notably scored two wins over John Higgins.

World Snooker Awards: 2018/19 winners
Player of the Year – Judd Trump
Fans’ Player of the Year – Ronnie O’Sullivan
Snooker Writers’ Player of the Year – Judd Trump
Performance of the Year – James Cahill
Rookie of the Year – Joe O’Connor
Magic Moment of the Year – Ronnie O’Sullivan

Player of the Year – former winners
2011: John Higgins
2012: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2013: Mark Selby
2014: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2015: Stuart Bingham
2016: John Higgins
2017: Mark Selby
2018: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2019: Judd Trump