Ronnie O'Sullivan SMASHES Century in Deciding Frame | MrQ UK Championship

Ding Edges Through in Thailand

Ding Junhui narrowly avoided group stage elimination on day three of the Sangsom Six Red World Championship in Bangkok.

The World Championship runner-up needed to win his final game, after suffering a 5-0 defeat in his morning match with Dominic Dale. The Welshman made a break of 57 in the last frame to wrap up a whitewash win and secure qualification.

Ding saw off Australia’s Ryan Thomerson 5-1 in his second match. The world number nine made breaks of 72 and 67 on his way to the win. The victory meant that Ding was locked with Thailand’s Phaitoon Phonbun on two wins, however Ding edged through on frame difference.

His opponent in the last 32 will be former Six Red World Champion Mark Davis, who came through the first stage with an unbeaten record. Davis rounded off his group campaign with a 5-2 win over Germany’s Lukas Kleckers and then a 5-0 defeat of home favourite Thepchaiya Un-Nooh.

Mark Williams had to settle for fourth place in Group G, as he scraped through to the last 32. The two-time World Champion lost his opening match of the day 5-3 against Stephen Maguire.  However, he secured a 5-3 win over Suchakree Poomjaeng to clinch the final qualifying spot.

Crucible winner Mark Selby eased into the knockout stages, as he looks to add another world title to his CV. The world number one secured wins over Boonyarit Kaettikul and Matthew Selt to ensure he progressed.

Pankaj AdvaniPankaj Advani came through Group C unscathed, finishing in top spot. He defeated Robert Milkins 5-4, before turning the tables on Ding’s whitewash conqueror Dominic Dale with a 5-0 win. The multiple billiards World Champion faces Lukas Kleckers in the last 32.

For final group stage results click here.

Last 32 Draw

Mark Davis vs Ding Junhui

Ryan Day vs Suchakree Poomjaeng

Noppon Saengkham vs Matthew Selt

Liang Wenbo vs Ben Woollaston

Pankaj Advani vs Lukas Kleckers

Yuan Sijun vs James Wattana

Mark Selby vs Michael White

David Gilbert vs Michael Holt

Stuart Bingham vs Mark Williams

Ishpreet Singh Chadha vs Dominic Dale

Akani Songsermsawad vs Kritsanut Lertsattayatorn

Joe Perry vs Boonyarit Kaettikul

Stephen Maguire vs Darren Morgan

Robert Milkins vs Thepchaiya Un-Nooh

Ricky Walden vs Martin Gould

Luca Brecel vs Evan Kakovsky