Chris Wakelin Reacts To His BetVictor Shootout Winning Century! 💯

Ferguson Named On Sports Innovator List

Jason Ferguson, Chairman of snooker’s governing body, has been voted in the top 20 of SportBusiness International’s Sports Innovator of the Year.

SportBusiness International’s annual Sports Innovator of the Year list honours the men and women who have made the most original, foresightful and unrivalled business decisions in the last 12 months. The list was compiled using votes from SportBusiness International subscribers and a five-person expert judging panel.

World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association Chairman Ferguson continues to play a key role in the development of snooker as a global sport.

Matt Cutler, Editor of SportBusiness International, said: “Ferguson signed a joint strategy with the International Billiards and Snooker Federation and the World Confederation of Billiard Sports to create a platform for an Olympic bid, telling SportBusiness International that 2028 is being targeted for the sport’s Olympic debut. He also helped launch snooker’s first world ranking tournament in India this October, to critical acclaim. Snooker’s progress on the international stage in recent years has been exceptional.”

Ferguson added: “It’s an honour to be named on this list. We do not rest on our laurels, and alongside World Snooker we continue to strive to create a bright future for the sport. The professional circuit goes from strength to strength and the WPBSA is focussed on building amateur snooker and increasing participation levels worldwide.”

The complete Sports Innovator of the Year 2013 list:
20 Nenad Lalovic (President, FILA)
19 Jason Ferguson (Chairman, WPBSA)
18 Stephen Barclay (CEO, America’s Cup Event Authority)
17 Scott McCune (Head of Global Partnerships, Coca-Cola)
16 Mike Dolan (Chairman and CEO, IMG Worldwide)
15 Mahesh Bhupathi (Tennis Player)
14 Don Garber (Commissioner, Major League Soccer)
13 Jay-Z (Rapper)
12 Alejandro Agag (CEO, Formula E)
11 Dmitry Chernyshenko (President and CEO, Sochi 2014 Olympics)
10 Scott Blackmun (CEO, US Olympic Committee)
9 Marc Pritchard (Global Brand Building Officer, Procter & Gamble)
8 Seb Coe (Executive Chairman, CSM Sport and Entertainment)
7 David Stern (Commissioner, National Basketball Association)
6 Roger Goodell (Commissioner, National Football League)
5 Dick Costolo (CEO, Twitter)
4 Bernie Ecclestone (Chief Executive, Formula One)
3 Richard Arnold (Group Managing Director Director, Manchester United)
2 Marc Watson (CEO, BT Television)
1 Dana White (President, Ultimate Fighting Championship)